Peninsular Malaysia Region
            There are four basins in the Peninsular Malaysia region. The Malay Basin and the Penyu Basin are located offshore to the east of the peninsula . The other two basins, namely the Central Sumatra Basin and the North Sumatra Basin lie to the west of the peninsula and are mostly offshore with a small portion lying onshore. The Malay Basin contains about 12-km thick Neogene sediments that were deposited within the non-marine to shallow marine environment. Reservoirs consist of channel bodies, stack bar sands and braided stream deposits. Significant oil and gas discoveries have been made from all three reservoir types. Deep geo-pressure play in the northern region promises to be the trend of the future. In the Penyu Basin, oil has been discovered on horst blocks of Oligocene synrift play consisting of fluvial sandstones reservoirs. Other objective targets are of Miocene post-rift play. Oligocene synrift play also form the main play for the Straits of Melaka Basins
  Sabah Region
            There are three major basins in Sabah. The Sabah Basin, which is located in NW Sabah, is mainly offshore while the other two basins cover some areas in the N.E. and S.E. of onshore Sabah. The Sabah Basin contains 12-km thick Neogene sediments that were deposited within the deep marine and progradational shelf slope environment. Reservoirs consist of channel bodies, shallow marine clastics and deepwater turbidite. Significant oil and gas discoveries have been made from deepwater channel and fans and promise to be the trend in the future. Although exploration activities have been sparse in the Northeast Sabah Basin, minor oil and gas discoveries have been found in the deltaic sandstones. Other objective targets are deepwater fans and possibly carbonate build-ups. The Southeast Sabah Basin objectives intervals are of the fluviatile and estuarine sandstones.
  Sarawak Region
            The Sarawak Basin covers a wide area both onshore and offshore in the State of Sarawak that has been divided into geological provinces, namely the West Baram Delta, Balingian, Central Luconia, Tinjar, Tatau, West Luconia and SW Luconia and SW Sarawak Provinces. Exploration activities have been more intensive in the West Baram Delta, Central Luconia and Balingian Provinces, although the other provinces have been explored to some extent and have fair share of seismic acquisition and exploration drilling. Hydrocarbon has been found in all provinces. The main drilling objectives in Sarawak Basin, among others, range from the Oligocene-Miocene coastal to nearshore sandstone in structural traps in Balingian Province, Miocene reefal carbonate in Central Luconia Province to Miocene Deltaic sandstones in Baram Delta Province. The sedimentary succession on the Sarawak Basin shelf is in excess of 12 km thick. Recently, renewed interest in the prospectivity of the West Luconia Province and the north portion of the Central Luconia Province (including deepwater area) has seen a rise in exploration activities. Except for the northern part, the onshore Tinjar Province has seen relatively sparse exploration activities. However, in view of the recent gravity/magnetics survey and also the interpretation of SAR data in the area, exploration works are set to increase.
  Sedimentary Basins in Malaysia

"The boundaries and names shown and the designations used in this website on CCOP EPF
do not imply official endorsement or acceptance by CCOP."

Copyright © Coordinating Committee for Geoscience Programmes in East and Southeast Asia (CCOP)
24th Floor, Suite 244-5, Thai CC Tower, 889 Sathorn Tai Road, Sathorn, Bangkok 10120, THAILAND
Tel: (662) 672-3080-1 Fax: (662) 673-3082 E-mail:
Last Update: 8 August 2002